Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Review: USA-Astrology.com

You'll never guess who's selling her old services for $20 less than the usual through the new URLs USA-Astrology.com and IN-Astrology.com (the latter, hoping to tempt customers from India). These two new fortunetelling websites are now being heavily advertised on Google. Hint about "her": "Her" regular website sank beneath the weight of bad reviews. I got my free reading, too. Check out my review of USA-Astrology here.

Friday, September 5, 2014

Susan Miller's Horoscope Scandal: Facts Only

Famed New York City-based astrologer Susan Miller of Astrologyzone.com aims to post her monthly horoscopes by the first of each month, but postings during 2014 have often been late: March 2, May 7, June 4, July 7, August 6, with Miller often blaming delays on personal illness or having to wait for her IT team. In July an online article in the magazine The Atlantic titled, "Dude, Where's My Horoscope?" reported that some of Miller's six million fans complained of feeling "abandoned" or "taken for granted" when Miller's horoscopes are late. By September 3, bitter complaints about the missing September horoscope appear on Miller's Facebook page, balanced by fans calling for patience and prayer. This is the first time a missing monthly horoscope has blown up into a scandal.

Miller has a business degree from NYU and has written horoscopes syndicated by Disney and ABC.com; she set up AstrologyZone.com in 2001. A February 18, 2013, profile in New York Magazine called her "the go-to astrologer for New York's fashion set" and noted Miller's loquaciousness, her many ailments including a broken wrist, and five bottles of painkillers. By her own description, Miller was a sickly child suffering internal bleeding.

Miller or her assistant posted on Miller's Facebook and Twitter accounts (@astrologyzone) that on or near April 15's total eclipse of the moon, Miller had an acute attack of intestinal bleeding. She kept fans posted about her progress, lapses, and medications. Soon after September's fan complaints began, her website was reduced to a notice on the homepage that Susan is ill and the horoscope for September 2014 will be online "as soon as possible."

Why are so many people so impatient for Susan Miller's horoscopes? Miller's monthly horoscopes are lengthy--about 3,000 encouraging, specific, spirited and some say incredibly accurate, 3000 words long each, and free.

Here are some facts:

April 1, 2014: April forecast posted.

April 20: Miller tweeted: "April 15 eclipse hit me hard with a mysterious infection. Pills really strong so I sleep and sleep. This is not like me! Sorry not here!"

May 7: May horoscopes posted.

June 4: June horoscopes posted.

July 5, 2014: A Reddit post by a fan discusses "Is anyone else pissed off by Susan Miller?" regarding the late horoscopes and their excuses, usually related to Miller's health.

July 7: July horoscopes posted. Miller tweets "After 40 days on corticosteroid, 95% of problem gone, now stepping down off the pills. But doc not happy with my progress. . ."

July 11: The staid, elite magazine Atlantic Monthly online edition publishes "Dude, Where's My Horoscope?" an article about complaints that Susan Miller's much-anticipated monthly forecasts have been consistently late: March 2, May 7, June 4, July 7; some feel "abandoned." After July's posting, Facebook fans accuse Miller of taking them for granted.

August 6: August horoscopes posted.

August 18: On Facebook, Miller announces that she is taking new medicine and also is launching a brand-new AstrologyZone app. Unlike the previous app AstrologyZone Premier, which downloaded for a single payment of $1.99, this new app's costs subscribers $50 per year. AstrologyZone Premier is no longer available.

On Twitter the same day, Susan posts about her bleeding intestines "open since April" and separately answers a follower question about the difference between the new and old app: "In the paid version you get 75 words + every day, per sign and access to evergreen personality info. More juicy content." This is followed by other same-day Twitter postings.

August 20: Susan's assistant reports on Facebook and Twitter that Susan is taking Humira, a medicine for Crohn's disease, a chronic intestinal disorder.

September 3: Miller or her team changed her Facebook cover photo from her face to the AstrologyZone logo and the website is reduced to a single page saying Susan is ill. Fans angry about the late horoscope post comments such as: "So this is really a gimmick to help pay for what..? the apps developers? Feign illness. . .?"

September 5: The first Facebook and Twitter posts since August 20 appear. Miller tells agitated fans and well-wishers that she has completed the monthly Sun-sign summaries but is taking the time to write complete forecasts as usual.

September 12: Horoscopes are published.

Quelling the Rumors: Miller's birth date or age are unknown. There is no question that she personally knows astrology; her astrological facts are accurate. There's no proof that Miller is a certified astrologer, but most astrologers are not certified; the certification exams tests are complicated, expensive, and given at one location once a year. Astrology is taught and learned, a skill, not "psychic" or an inborn gift, so speculations that Miller has "lost the gift" or that it "died with her mother" (in 2012) are wildly off the mark. Crohn's disease is chronic, ulcerates the intestines and is exacerbated by stress.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Susan Miller Alternatives: Good Monthly Horoscopes

Susan Miller's monthly sun sign predictions are late -- and her site, astrologyzone.com, has been reduced to a single page, saying she's ill. I wrote an article listing six other monthly horoscopes to enjoy while you wait for Susan to recover from what's been ailing her, selecting them for high quality: Best Free Online Monthly Horoscopes.

Online critics allege that she's not really sick but on drugs, that her mother who died in 2012 was the real astrologer and Susan is clueless, that she can't manage her life. (Miller has a business degree from NYU.) I think she's a terrifically hard-working woman, not young, between 50 and 60, whose body has broken down from writing half a million words a year, the equivalent of nine full books. Even so she took time to email me when I wrote a review of her site, and helped me correct an error.

I say the complainers got spoiled expecting every month free gloriously specific and highly accurate 3500-word horoscopes for each sign, encouraging and warm, entirely original and never computerized. Miller says she spent the last 10 days of each month working on them. That amount of work would take most writer/astrologers three times as long.  Susan, get well soon.

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Review: AstrologyAnswers.com and "Katherine"

AstrologyAnswers.com takes a soft-sell approach. Its weekly-horoscope emails are based on genuine planetary motions and weekly email "Beneficial Thoughts" contain no links beckoning you to buy readings. There are plenty of common-sense articles to peruse on its home page. But, oops...the owners (there is no "Katherine") made some mistakes and leaked some info that undermine their credibility. Click here for the details.

Sunday, December 15, 2013

Spells and Charms: Psychic Energy, Two Ways, Explained

Spells and charms both use magical words, but in the real world (not Harry Potter's fantasy world) their results are different. Before casting a spell or buying one, know the difference.

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Christian Grey and Ana Steele Horoscopes

If you liked my reading of Christian Grey's chart, I did Ana Steele's, too, (they're Gemini and Virgo), plus their compatibility chart, and written up all three interpretations in non-technical language, putting it all together as a Kindle ebook. Fans should enjoy it. Sample it at

You do not need to own a Kindle to read the book. Download the free Kindle software onto your PC; that's what I do.

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Christian Grey's Horoscope

Christian Grey, hero of the erotic romance Fifty Shades of Grey, has a remarkably fitting "birth" horoscope. His birthday's in the novel! I explored his astrological chart and had fun writing about what I found. This is also the first complete Christian Grey horoscope on the Net! Click here to see it, and, laters, baby.

P.S. I also did Ana's chart, plus their compatibility chart, now available as an ebook on Amazon.com Kindle, 2:99.